World Car Of The Year Applicants Are Called: What Model Will Win?

The struggle for the title of the next World Car of the Year (WCOTY) has already started. By tradition, the winner will be announced at the New York International Auto Show.

For the next few months, the international jury will select the world’s best car of 2019. In the meantime, we have a chance to learn the list of applicants and guess which of them will win. They are:

  • Acura RDX
  • Audi e-tron
  • Audi A1
  • Audi A6
  • Audi Q3
  • BMW 3 Series
  • BMW i8 Roadster
  • BMW X2
  • Cadillac XT4
  • Citroen C5 Aircross
  • Dacia Duster
  • Ford Focus
  • Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid
  • Hyundai Santa Fe
  • Hyundai Nexo
  • Infiniti QX50
  • Jaguar E-Pace
  • Jaguar I-Pace
  • Jeep Cherokee
  • Jeep Wrangler
  • Kia Ceed/Forte
  • Kia Niro EV
  • Kia Soul
  • Lexus ES
  • Lexus UX
  • Nissan Altima
  • Nissan Kicks
  • SEAT Arona
  • Subaru Forester
  • Suzuki Jimny
  • Toyota Avalon
  • Toyota Corolla
  • Toyota RAV4
  • Volvo S60/V60
  • Volvo XC40

Apart from the world car of the year, the jury will define the best car in each of the four subcategories:

1. World premium car of the year: Audi A7, Audi Q8, BMW 8-Series, Mercedes-Benz GLE, Volkswagen Touareg;

2019 Audi Q8

2. World sports car of the year: Aston Martin Vantage, BMW M2 Competition, Hyundai Veloster N, Kia Ceed GT, McLaren 720S;

2019 Kia Ceed GT

3. World green car of the year: Audi e-tron, BMW i8 Roadster, Honda Clarity Plug-In Hybrid, Honda Insight, Hyundai Nexo, Jaguar I-PACE, Kia Niro EV, Lexus ES Hybrid, Lexus UX Hybrid, Toyota Avalon Hybrid, Toyota RAV4 Hybrid;

2020 Audi-e-tron

4. World city car of the year: Audi A1, BMW X2, Kia Soul, SEAT Arona, Suzuki Jimny.

2019 BMW X2

Upper photo: 2019 Acura RDX

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.