Hot Nissan

New Nissan Z Will Come With a Manual Transmission and a Twin-Turbo V6

Nissan has posted a teaser video of the upcoming new Z sports car. Viewers can hear how its engine roars, and see a six-speed manual shifter.

The Nissan Z Proto, a concept version of the new Nissan Z, will be unveiled on September 15 at 8:30 p.m. EDT / 7:30 p.m. CST, or September 16 at 2:30 a.m. CEST / 9:30 a.m. JST.

It takes design cues from the original 240Z and the 300ZX of the early 1990s. Expect it will get a variant of a twin-turbo 3.0-liter V6 engine met in Infiniti’s Q50 and Q60 Red Sport, where it makes 300 or 400 hp.

It becomes clear now that power in the Nissan Z (or 400Z, a production car’s possible name) will be transmitted rearward through the standard 6-speed manual gearbox.

The production version should arrive sometime next year.

UPDATE of Sept. 14: Nissan published the last teaser photo of the Z sports car a day before its official premiere. The dark image hints at the vehicle’s overall width and its light signature at the front. 

Here it is:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Scroll to top